× This is the optional category header for the Suggestion Box.

Newbie Setup Instructions (Renamed)

• NiallDarwin
  • NiallDarwin's Avatar Topic Author
More
4 years 8 months ago - 4 years 5 months ago #238 by NiallDarwin
Newbie Setup Instructions (Renamed) was created by NiallDarwin
I got an Arduino Due and CanDue v2.2 from EVTV. I'm using a 64 bit Win7 laptop.

I can get the Arduino IDE to see the Arduino and upload basic programs to it.
I can get the GVRETupdate.bat to work
I can't get the ESP32RET updater to work on either usb port. The bat file tries the correct COM port but fails with:

"A fatal error occurred: Failed to connect to ESP32: Timed out waiting for packet
header"

I can't get Savvy CAN to see my device. I'm guessing this is because without the ESP32RET stuff uploaded it won't be communicating.

As I said in the title, I'm a newbie to this so I have some basic questions:
1/ Should I use the updater to perform this initial install or should I use the master files?
2/ Am I right in thinking that I need the ESP32 files before Savvy CAN has a chance of working?

I'd love a bit of guidance to help me through what I may have missed.

Thanks
Last edit: 4 years 5 months ago by NiallDarwin.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• NiallDarwin
  • NiallDarwin's Avatar Topic Author
More
4 years 8 months ago #239 by NiallDarwin
Replied by NiallDarwin on topic Newbie Setup Issues
OK, so it seems like I'm going about things backwards. A couple of pointers from friends who are better with Arduino has set me right and I'm up and running :)

Here's my walk-through to get GVRET onto an EVTV CanDue and Arduino Due. Hopefully it will be useful to any newbies like me:

1/ You don't need an updater until you've installed something to update!