× Welcome to the Kunena forum!

Tell us and our members who you are, what you like and why you became a member of this site.
We welcome all new members and hope to see you around a lot!

can_due vs esp32_can when sending?

• lordryck
  • lordryck's Avatar Topic Author
More
3 years 8 months ago #303 by lordryck
can_due vs esp32_can when sending? was created by lordryck
This is my first time here so I'll put it in the Welcome Mat category. My name is Rick and I have an electric Ford Ranger. I'm working on improving my instrumentation so I bought an ISAScale CAN bus shunt from EVTV. I've been using the CANDue for a while but for this project I picked up a couple of the ESP32 CANdue boards. I've been adapting Jack's ISP library to work with the ESP32 and I've run into a bizarre problem.

The base issue is that commands I send to the ISAScale are being ignored. I set up the ISAScale, one ESP32 as my controller and a second running GEVRET. Two computers--one running SavvyCAN and the second monitoring my controller. The data from the ISA is being read by my controller and the values seem to be accurate. That data is also seen in SavvyCAN. When I send a packet, however, the data portion is getting garbled. The ID comes out right but where I sent 43 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 I might get something like FF 02 DD DD 00 00 20 00. I don't think it's the wiring because a packet sent from SavvyCAN goes and the ISA responds properly.

I thought maybe I had a bad port but I tried both of them with the same result.

So I just swapped in a CANDue board and it works fine. That leads me to wonder if there's some fundamental different between can_due and esp32_can that I don't know about. I'm sending the packet with this:

outframe.id = 0x411; // Set our transmission address ID
outframe.length = 8; // Data payload 8 bytes
outframe.extended = 0; // Extended addresses 0=11-bit1=29bit
outframe.rtr=1; //No request
outframe.data.uint8[0]=0x43;
outframe.data.uint8[1]=0x01;