× Welcome to the Kunena forum!

Tell us and our members who you are, what you like and why you became a member of this site.
We welcome all new members and hope to see you around a lot!

Kvaser Leaf Light cannot be correctly connected - only 0x000 read in

More
3 years 8 months ago #308 by myue
Hello,
First of all, thank you Collin Kidder for creating SavvyCan this powerful software, I am still learning how to make most out of it.
I am working on a project to read real-time RPM/Speed/Throttle out of 2009 Honda Pilot through CANbus via Kvaser Leaf Light, eventually I need to know how RPM/Speed/Throttle are defined in CANbus traffic(DBC format) and reading these infomation at real-time to feed in another software.
The Kvaser Leaf Light works well with Kvaser CanKing software, which is also very powerful but less power for analysing. As connected in Baud rate at 500k CanKing could catch lots of trafic out, but cannot tell exactly which MIDs should be listened to decode RPM/Speed/Throttle, therefore I installed SavvyCAN to help me out.
SavvyCan seems very powerful but I stuck at first step - The Kvaser Leaf could only be recoganized as:

• Type: SeriaBus

• Subtype: passthrucan

• Port:J2534(kline) for Kvaser Hardware

• Buses:1
  • The connection could be recoganized at Speed 250K(if I checked "Listen Only" then I could alternate to Speed 500k, but no help)
    then, the only data ID could in read was 0x000 - indicated the wrong data being read in.

Any suggestion for SavvyCAn to set up a good connection with Kvaser Leaf?
    For any tips for decoding the RPM/Speed/Throttle out of the CANbus traffic(recorded a lot with CanKing already), you are mostly welcomed to exchange experience.

The only DBC file for this car was from:https://github.com/commaai/opendbc/blob/master/honda_pilot_touring_2017_can_generated.dbc
    Thanks for whoever uploaded it there.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
    3 years 8 months ago #309 by collink